Near the top of
Sadler Gate, it is on the left-hand side as you walk down from Iron Gate.
A black and white 17th century, three-storey,
timbered building that stands with the entrance
at right angles to Sadler Gate. It was the
Meynell family who had this fine coaching inn
built around 1680. John Campion acquired the freehold in
1780, and added a fine ballroom, which was subject to
alteration. During the floods of 1842, the nine
year old grandson of John Campion II was
'launched in a was-tub in the cellars' - the
purpose to save some vintage bottles of wine
placed there by his great-grandfather!
Curiosities: The builders Ford and
Weston added the mock-Tudor timbering as part
of a decorative refurbishment in 1929, using
timber that had been rescued from other local
to Derby Pubs Back to the top of the
Derby Home Page
is an independent, not for profit website.
recommendation of any establishment is implied by inclusion on this
Select a pub
and click to go to the page, or to return the Derby Pubs Home Page click
DISCOVER DERBYSHIRE AND THE PEAK
To return to
the main site click the link below.
Return to the Home
for details of the contents of the main website.
Return to the Contents