Half way up Abbey Street, on the right
Built in 1733 by Dr William Chauncey around a
mineral spring. He built a handsome cold bath, changing rooms, a rest
room and a pleasure walks
at considerable expense.
Unfortunately, Chauncey died three
years later and the plan to compete with Buxton never
really took off. Later it became a private
residence, before in 1832 being established as a
inn. The inn was refurbished and opened out in
the 1980s, and again at the start of the present
century further improvements were carried out.
Curiosities: Traces of Chauncey's
baths still remain and a survey in 2001, found
what appeared to be a sunken bath that
suggested the system was based on Roman Baths.
to Derby Pubs Back to the top of the
Derby Home Page
is an independent, not for profit website.
recommendation of any establishment is implied by inclusion on this
Select a pub
and click to go to the page, or to return the Derby Pubs Home Page click
DISCOVER DERBYSHIRE AND THE PEAK
1. To return to
the main site click the link below.
Return to the Home
To return to the contents page of the main website click the link below.
Return to the Contents